Posted in Surrogacy

Thankful for today…

So yesterday, August 30, I was headed to an ultrasound to check my uterine lining.  I was meeting my sister at the clinic  I left my home at about 7:10am.  At 7:15am, this happened:

IMG_0299

I was driving straight when a semi truck decided to pull out in front of me.  I slammed on my breaks and I couldn’t stop.  I skidded and hit the semi head on in his trailer.  The semi looked just like this:

6899545901_4a7fa8c12012

I remember skidding and saying “GO GO GO” hoping that he would speed up and I would somehow miss hitting him.  And then I realized that I wasn’t going to be able to avoid hitting him and I was going to wreck.  I braced myself on the steering wheel.  I remember feeling the impact.  I remember hearing the crunch.  I had a cup of water with me in the car and that flew everywhere.  My purse flew.

I put the car in park and opened the door.  By the time I got the door open there was a gentleman that had ran to my driver’s side door.  He was apparently driving behind me and saw what happened.  He said “my wife is calling the police.  Are you ok??”  I remember just sitting there for a minute.  He just kept telling me “you’re ok.  you’re ok.”  He said that he was behind me and that he saw that I had a green light and that the semi ran the red light.  He then told me that he had to take his wife to work (that is where he was headed) but that he wanted to give me his name and number for the police report as a witness.  He was so very kind.  I got out of the car and he continued to ask me if I was ok.  His wife got out of her car and came up and hugged me.  I was so lucky that someone stopped.  I was so lucky that these people were so kind to me.  I called my sister and told her what happened and that I wouldn’t be at the appointment.  Obviously she said she would have her ultrasound quick and then would come straight to the scene.  I called my mom.  It was like 7:30 by this time.  Thank God she answered.  I remember saying “mom, I’ve been in a really bad accident, can you just come here?”  Both of my parents jumped in the car and headed straight over.  They live about 20-25 min away so I was left standing on the corner by myself.  Just staring at my car.

One of the first thoughts I had was “thank GOD we hadn’t transferred yet.”  I knew that an impact like that would probably effect a pregnancy.  And then I thought “ugh!  My car was paid off.  Now I have to have a car payment!”  Selfish, I know.

The officer arrived.  He asked me if I was ok and if I needed a medic, which I declined.  He got my side of the story and took my information.  I gave him the information of the very kind man who stopped (as a witness).  The officer then went and talked with the other driver.  They walked around the semi truck a couple of times.  The officer came back over to me and said “do you know where exactly you hit him?”  I told him I did not and I asked why.  He stated that there wasn’t a single mark on the semi truck.  I rolled my eyes and giggled and said “well, there is on my Kia.”  The officer laughed and said “ya, the Kia lost.”  He also said that he believes my car might have gone underneath the semi a bit and that he’s shocked I walked away from the accident.  He, too, was very kind.  He walked to his car to start his report and run our information.  He ended up citing the truck driver with “failure to yield.”

I stood there waiting for my mom, dad, and sister.  And then I looked at the semi.  If you look at the picture above you see the black things underneath the bed of the truck.  I don’t know much about semis but I know those are not present on every truck.  Can you imagine what would have happened to my car if those wouldn’t have been there?  I’m assuming I would have been lodged all the way under his truck and there is no way I would have not received serious injury.  Thank goodness for those black things (whatever they are). lol.

My family showed up.  We called a tow truck.  They towed my car to a collision center that is not too far from my home.  I am assuming my car will totaled 😩

​I called my insurance and let them know.  I tried to call the other driver’s but apparently they don’t have a weekend 24/7 number.  So I have to do that Monday.  So, the next chore is finding a rental car.  I had to have a car to drive.  So my family and I head over to Enterprise.  We ask for an economy car.  I swear, they gave me the ugliest car on the lot. lol.  A Nissan Versa.  (sorry if anyone drives this car…lol)


After coming home, I spent the day relaxing.  I was exhausted because of the adrenaline rush.  I laid on the couch and snuggled puppies.  And slept.  A lot.


Today, I am sore.  My neck and shoulders are very tight.  I have a bruise on my left shoulder from the seatbelt.  And my chest is sore from the seatbelt as well.  But that’s it!  I realize it could be a lot worse!  I am up and moving (in fact I cleaned my whole house this morning) and I really thought I wouldn’t be able to move today!

IMG_0316
Small bruise on my shoulder from the seatbelt

Long story short, someone was watching out for me.  I’m not sure who it was, but I sure have a guardian angel!  I am well.   And I fully realize that it could have (and should have) been a lot worse.  Please, wear your seatbelt!

2 thoughts on “Thankful for today…

  1. Bless you hun! Someone IS watching out for you. I am following your posts and I am about 4 days behind you on my timeline for my surrogacy journey. Your posts keep me positive and i love reading them. Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

